HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

FIRST SESSION OF 2018 – 2023



ORDER BOOK

OF

THE HONOURABLE THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

ORDER BOOK

SIXTY-EIGHTH SITTING

Wednesday, 1st April, 2020

FIRST SESSION OF 2018–2023

SIXTY-EIGHTH SITTING

at

10.00 o'clock a.m.

on

Wednesday, 1st April, 2020

The First Session of the Parliament of 2018-2023 commenced on Tuesday, 5th June, 2018

Government Printing Department Barbados. (Parliament (Administration) Act, Cap. 10 – Section 3(4))

The following are ex officio Members of the Commission:

His Honour A. E. Holder (Chairman), Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley, Q.C., Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw and Bishop J. J. S. Atherley.

Section 3(4) of the Parliament (Administration) Act, Cap. 10.

The following are appointed Members of the Commission:

Hon. C. E. Jordan, Dr. S. E. Browne and Mr. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill.

Appointed on 5th June, 2018.

Hon. D. D. Marshall, Q.C.

Appointed on 10th July, 2018.

SESSIONAL SELECT COMMITTEES

COMMITTEE OF PRIVILEGES

To consider and report to the Honourable the House of Assembly on all matters which involve the privileges of the Honourable the House of Assembly.

The Members of the Committee are:

His Honour A. E. Holder (Chairman), Lt. Col. the Hon. J. D. Bostic, Hon. K. D. M. Humphrey, Mr. N. G. H. Rowe, Hon. Miss C. Y. Forde, His Honour G. A. Clarke and Bishop J. J. S. Atherley.

Appointed on 5th June, 2018.

PRIVATE MEMBERS' BUSINESS

11

COMMITTEE OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS

To examine the accounts showing the appropriation of the sums granted by Parliament to meet the public expenditure, accounts of any entities in which Government is a majority shareholder or holds a majority interest and of such other accounts laid before Parliament as the Committee may think fit.

The Members of the Committee are:

Bishop J. J. S. Atherley (Chairman), Hon. Ms. C. S. V. Husbands, Hon. Miss M. K-A. Caddle, Hon. C. E. Jordan, Dr. S. E. Browne, Mr. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill and Hon. K. D. Symmonds.

Appointed on 5th June, 2018.

STANDING ORDERS COMMITTEE

The Members of the Committee are:

His Honour the Speaker (Chairman), Hon. G. W. Payne, Q.C., Hon. R. St. C. Toppin, Hon. K. D. Symmonds, Hon. W. A. Abrahams and Bishop J. J. S. Atherley.

Appointed on 5th June, 2018.

Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw, Lt. Col. the Hon. J. D. Bostic, His Honour G. A. Clarke and Mr. R. A. Thorne.

Appointed on 15th January, 2019.

LIBRARY COMMITTEE

The following are Members of this Joint Committee:

His Honour the Speaker (Chairman), Hon. A. R. Forde, Hon. R. R. Straughn, Hon. J. A. King, Mr. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill and Hon. Miss M. K-A. Caddle.

Appointed on 5th June, 2018.

QUESTIONS

ORDER OF BUSINESS

5

(Standing Order 10)

"Unless the House otherwise directs, the business of each sitting day shall be transacted in the following order –

- (a) Formal entry of His Honour the Speaker.
- (b) Prayers.
- (c) Announcements by His Honour the Speaker.
- (d) Messages from Her Excellency the Governor-General.
- (e) Petitions.
- (f) Papers.
- (g) Government Notices.
- (h) Private Members' Notices.
- (i) Notices of Questions.
- (j) Reports from Select Committees.
- (k) First readings of Bills.
- (1) Statements by Ministers.
- (m) Congratulatory and/or obituary speeches.
- (n) Personal Explanations.
- (o) Motions for leave of absence.
- (p) Oral replies to questions.
- (q) Notices of motions for the adjournment of the House on matters of urgent public importance.
- (r) Orders of the day."

GOVERNMENT BUSINESS

7